Modartt Releases Hohner Collection for Pianoteq

Modartt Pianoteq is unlike some piano instruments you'll come across elsewhere. It uses physical modelling to create realistic piano sounds, not samples... now with Hohner Electra-piano and Pianet T.  

22 April, 2015–Modartt releases Hohner Collection for Pianoteq, authorized by Hohner. The Clavinet D6, which Modartt released for Pianoteq in 2010, is now joined by two other members of the Hohner instrument family — the Electra-piano and the Pianet T.

Three famous Hohner keyboard instruments

The Electra-piano, the Pianet T and the Clavinet D6 are electro-mechanical pianos, manufactured by Hohner from the early sixties until the early eighties. They appeared in many hit records of that period, including “She's not there” by The Zombies, “Stairway to Heaven” by Led Zeppelin and “Superstition” by Stevie Wonder.

In the Electra Piano, forks are struck by hammers and their electronically converted vibrations are transmitted to a transistorised amplifier.

In the Pianet T, reeds are plucked by silicone rubber pads and the resulting vibrations are converted into electrical signal via an electro-magnetic pick-up.

In the Clavinet, strings are struck by small rubber tips and pressed on to an anvil. Two pickups allow the amplification of the string vibrations.

Pianoteq Clavinet interface.

Pianoteq Clavinet interface.

Added features with Pianoteq

The virtual copies for Pianoteq benefit from its physical modelling engine — the octave range is extended to seven octaves, a sustain pedal is added for the Pianet T and the Clavinet D6, and physical properties of the instruments can be modified.

Authorized by Hohner

The Hohner Collection for Pianoteq is tested and authorized by Hohner. Hohner is a registered trademark of Matth. Hohner GmbH.

Download & Try

The Hohner Collection, sold as an instrument pack, requires the latest update 5.2 of Pianoteq. The collection is free for all Pianoteq customers with a licence of the Clavinet instrument pack. The collection is available for evaluation in the free trial version of Pianoteq which can be downloaded from the website

Rounik is the Executive Editor for Ask.Audio & macProVideo. He's built a crack team of professional musicians and writers to create one of the most visited online resources for news, review, tutorials and interviews for modern musician and producer. As an Apple Certified Trainer for Logic Pro Rounik has taught teachers, professional... Read More


Want to join the discussion?

Create an account or login to get started!